Split Second



122 1/2 x 51 3/16 x 35 6/16 inches

Accession Number


Medium or Technique

Bronze. Steel plate not original to object.

On View

Linde Family Wing Entrance (Entrance 162)


Contemporary Art, Europe



One of the most acclaimed sculptors of his generation, Tony Cragg’s sculptures can largely be organized into groups according to the different materials from which they are made: stone, clay, bronze, glass, as well as synthetic materials like polystyrene, carbon- or glass-fiber. His sensitivity to the material is and has been the starting point for his work. Among a strong generation of sculptors who emerged from England in the last two decades, Tony Cragg has distinguished himself for widening the boundaries of sculpture through his early interest in science which informed his experimental approach, his agility with materials, and his reinvention of form. Cragg’s recent body of work, from which Split Second comes, explores the effects of movement and volume. Within each sculpture, multiple axes exist, generating unexpected viewpoints through symmetry and asymmetry, resulting in contoured images and figures that are tangible but mysteriously revealed.


From the artist to the Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Paris; 2007, sold by Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac to the MFA. (Accession Date: December 12, 2007)

Credit Line

Museum purchase with funds donated by members of the 2006–2007 Contemporary Art Visiting Committee: Robert and Jane Burke, Ann and Graham Gund, Elizabeth and Woody Ives, Ellen and Robert Jaffe, Joyce and Edward Linde, JoAnn McGrath, Susan W. Paine, Rhonda and Michael Zinner, Robert and Esta Epstein, Gail and Ernst von Metzsch, John and Amy Berylson, Lorraine and Alan Bressler, Catherine and Paul Buttenwieser, The Fine Family Foundation, Sandra and Gerald Fineberg, Martin and Deborah Hale, Eloise and Arthur Hodges, Richard and Nancy Lubin, Davis and Carol Noble, Steven Rogowski, Elizabeth and Samuel Thorne, Stephen and Dorothy Weber, Robert Beal, Marvin and Ann Collier, Marlene and David Persky, Judith and Bruce Eissner, Edward and Carole Rudman, Karin and David Chamberlain, John F. Cogan, Jr. and Mary L. Cornille, Marcia Kamentsky, Katherine R. Kirk, Ann Beha and Robert Radloff, Jan Colombi and Jay Reeg, Robert and Bettye Freeman, Allison D. Salke, and Lois B. Torf, with additional funds from the Robert M. Rosenberg Family Fund, Stephen D. and Susan W. Paine Acquisition Fund for 20th Century and Contemporary Art, Doran Family Fund for Contemporary Artists created in memory of Stephen D. Paine, and Irving W. and Charlotte F. Rabb Acquisition Fund for the Department of Contemporary Art


© Tony Cragg