Search

Concert Series Production Internship

Working with the staff of the Concerts Program, as part of the larger Department of Contemporary Art & MFA Programs, this position will support the planning, coordination and production of concerts in a variety of venues throughout the Museum. Intern candidates should be involved in a music industry or sound production related course of study. This internship will allow the student to gain experience with behind the scenes logistics of production and management of a public presentation.

The hours and days for this position are:

  • Monday, January 19     9am-5pm
  • Sunday, February 15    9am-5pm 
  • Saturday, February 21  9am-5pm 
  • Sunday, March 15        9am-5pm 
  • Saturday, March 21      9am-5pm
  • Friday, April 25           2pm-10:30pm
  • Sunday, May 10           9am-5pm
  • Friday, June 5              2pm-10:30pm

Participation at other musical events as warranted by intern’s availability is encouraged. (Class schedules that occasionally conflict with the variety of hours will not be considered a detriment to a candidate’s application)

Responsibilities:

  • Day-of concert set-up and break-down of the PA as well as sound checks and performances
  • General production support as needed

Qualifications:

  • Exceptional interpersonal skills, a willingness to work hard
  • Attention to detail and punctuality a must
  • Excellent oral communication skills
  • Strong interest in sound industry, production and music
  • Experience with, familiarity with, or desire to learn public programming or event planning
  • Experience in fast paced, customer service oriented environments
  • Ability to lift equipment and gear
  • Flexibility and a willingness to learn and grow
  • Ability to commit to all scheduled performance dates listed above
  • Excellent written and oral communication skills
  • Exceptional interpersonal skills
  • Ability to excel whether working independently or collaboratively
  • Ability to commit to: Mon Jan 19, 9am-5pm; Sun, Feb 15, 9am-5pm; Sat, Feb 21, 9am-5pm; Sun, Mar 15, 9am-5pm; Sat, Mar 21, 9am-5pm; Fri, Apr 25, 2pm-10:30pm; Sun, May 10, 9am-5pm; and Fri, Jun 5, 2pm-10:30pm. 
  • Ability to attend orientation on either Wed, Jan 21 (6 pm) or Wed, Feb 4 (10 am or 6 pm)



Type

Internship

Status

Part Time

Schedule

10 hours per concert. 1 pm – 11 pm on Wed, July 2, 9, 23, 30; Wed, Aug. 6, 13, 20,27 and Thursday Aug. 21

Posted

November 5, 2014

Department

Contemporary Art and MFA Programs