Since 1999, Sō Percussion has been creating music that explores all the extremes of emotion and musical possibility. Called an “experimental powerhouse” by the Village Voice, “astonishing and entrancing” by Billboard Magazine, and “brilliant” by the New York Times, the Brooklyn-based quartet’s innovative work with today’s most exciting composers and their own original music has quickly helped them forge a unique and diverse career.

Excitement about composers like John Cage, Steve Reich, and Iannis Xenakis - as well as the sheer fun of playing together - inspired the members of So to begin performing together while students at the Yale School of Music.

Oscar Bettison - Apart
Steve Reich - Drumming, Part 1
Jason Treuting and Josh Quillen - Double Music featuring local percussionists
Dan Trueman - neither Anvil nor Pulley

Purchase Tickets
Online: purchase using the link in the red box
By phone: 1-800-440-6975; Mon–Sat, 9 am–9 pm; and Sun, 9 am–6 pm.
In person: visit any MFA ticket desk; desks close 30 minutes before the Museum

Doors open 30 minutes prior to the concert.


Image by Jeff Ragland

Sō Percussion

Next Session: This event is closed.
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Remis Auditorium, 161
$20MFA members, seniors, and students
Ticket Purchase Required
Event Type
Special Instructions
State Street Fenway Entrance